Some clarity around New York City FC’s roster for the 2020 season has arrived, as the club announced various roster decisions on Wednesday.

Four players had their contract option picked up: goalkeepers Luis Barraza and Brad Stuver, as well as defenders Sebastien Ibeagha and Ronald Matarrita.

The Eastern Conference club has declined the 2020 options for goalkeeper Jeff Caldwell, defenders Abdi Mohamed and Eric Miller, and midfielders Daniel Bedoya and Ebenezer Ofori.

NYCFC also confirmed that midfielder Keaton Parks’ loan from Benfica will officially end as of Dec. 31. Meanwhile, they saw Ben Sweat selected yesterday with the No. 1 overall pick by Inter Miami CF in the Expansion Draft.

All told, NYCFC’s roster stands at 21 players following a season where they finished second in the Supporters’ Shield race with 64 points. They crashed out of the 2019 Audi MLS Cup Playoffs, though, to eventual finalist Toronto FC in the Conference Semifinals. 

The club will also have a new coach for next season, now that Dome Torrent has departed.

2020 NYCFC Roster as of November 20, 2019:


Castellanos, Valentin


Mackay-Steven, Gary

Medina, Jesus

Mitrita, Alexandru

Tajouri-Shradi, Ismael


Haak, Justin

Moralez, Maxi

Ring, Alex

Rocha, Tony

Torres, Juan Pablo


Callens, Alex

Chanot, Maxime

Ibeagha, Sebastien

Matarrita, Ronald

Sands, James

Scally, Joe

Tinnerholm, Anton


Barraza, Luis

Johnson, Sean

Stuver, Brad

Sezione: News / Data: Mer 20 novembre 2019 alle 21:30 / Fonte:
Autore: Stefano Bentivogli
Vedi letture